Advanced search

Excellence in higher education and research


Doctor Honoris Causa

A Doctor Honoris Causa is the highest honorary distinction that an academic institution can award a foreign visitor for his or her contributions to a specific field or to society in general. The ENS de Lyon has granted this title to 19 intellectuals to date.

Our Doctors Honoris Causa


Ingrid Daubechies, Belgian and American physicist and mathematician, Professor of mathematics at Duke University.
LI Peilin, Chiese sociologist, Vice-president of the Chinese academy of social sciences


HE Mingyuan, Chinese chemist, member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences


Michel Côté, canadian museum director
Luigi Ambrosio, Italian mathematician
Eberhard Bodenschatz, German physicist
Ole Petter Ottersen, Norwegian physician, recteur de l'université d'Oslo


Jamaâ Baïda, Moroccan historian
Boualem Sansal, Algerian writer
Pinar Selek, Turkish sociologist and writer
André Roy, Canadian geographer


John N. Mather, American mathematician
Leslie Valiant, Anglo-american informatician
Michael Ellis Fisher, Bristish physicist
Abdel Kader Haidara, Tombouctou Library's Director
Josefina Gomez Mendoza, Spanish geographer
Michaëlle Jean, chancelière de l’Université d’Ottawa, ancienne gouverneur générale du Canada


Theo Verbeek, Dutch philosopher
Robert Costanza, American economist, specialized in ecological economics
Nils Christian Stenseth, Norwegian biologist


Stanley Cavell, American philosopher
Dany Laferrière, Haitian/Canadian writer

ENS de Lyon
15 parvis René Descartes - BP 7000
69342 Lyon Cedex 07 - FRANCE
Descartes Campus : +33 (0) 4 37 37 60 00
Monod Campus : +33 (0) 4 72 72 80 00

Contact us

Stay connected