Advanced search

Research, Award(s)

Adrien Kassel

Halmos-Ford award winner

Published on : August 25, 2017
Mathematical Association of America

Adrien Kassel, a research fellow at CNRS at the UMPA in the "Probabilities" team, has just received the "Paul R. Halmos - Lester R. Ford Award", for an article co-written with David B. Wilson entitled "The Looping Rate and Sandpile Density of Planar Graphs".

This price was awarded to them in Chicago during the "Math Fest", organized by the Mathematical Association of America (MAA).

Paul R. Halmos - Lester R. Ford Award

The Paul R. Halmos-Lester R. Ford Awards recognize authors of articles of expository excellence published in The American Mathematical Monthly. This award is $1,000 and up to four awards may be awarded each year. The awards were established in 1964 as the Ford awards, named for Lester R. Ford, Sr., a distinguished mathematician, editor of The American Mathematical Monthly, 1942-1946, and President of the Mathematical Association of America, 1947-1948. In 2012, the Board of Governors designated these awards as the Paul R. Halmos-Lester R. Ford Awards to recognize the support for the awards provided by the Halmos family and to recognize Paul R. Halmos, a distinguished mathematician and editor of The Monthly, 1982-1986.

Search of an article

Search of an article


ENS de Lyon
15 parvis René Descartes - BP 7000
69342 Lyon Cedex 07 - FRANCE
Descartes Campus : +33 (0) 4 37 37 60 00
Monod Campus : +33 (0) 4 72 72 80 00

Contact us

Stay connected